Please join us in honoring Drs. Callan, Smith & Meltzoff

As a friend of the California School of Professional Psychology (CSPP), you understand better than most the impact that our school has made in the mental health arena and for thousands of practitioners across California and around the nation.

We’re writing to you today to help us celebrate three of the pivotal leaders in CSPP – San Diego’s legacy: Drs. Joanne Callan, Sydney Smith, and Julian Meltzoff.

“There are times in the life of a developing institution when interludes of great achievement can occur as a result of key people assembling at the same time and sharing a vision and a mission. CSPP in San Diego had such a moment in the 1980’s when the academic leadership of Joanne Callan as Provost, Sydney Smith as Academic Dean, and Julian Meltzoff as Director of Research worked together to form a center of excellence in doctoral education in clinical and organizational psychology that led to breakthroughs in curriculum/professional development, accreditation, student support, and applied research that have been widely duplicated in the professional school arena.”

To honor and recognize the accomplishments of that leadership team on whose shoulders so many have stood in the ensuing years at the San Diego campus and across CSPP, we are establishing the Callan-Smith-Meltzoff Scholarship Fund to be awarded annually to a CSPP-San Diego student who demonstrates exemplary performance in her/his scholarly pursuits.

We’d like to invite you to be involved in two ways:

First, join us in making a one-time or recurring gift now to help establish the new scholarship fund. We have an ambitious goal to create an endowed scholarship in honor of Drs. Callan, Smith, and Meltzoff. Each of us has made a personally meaningful contribution and we would like to invite you to join us.

Second, join us in person on Wednesday, November 1, 2017 at the Lomas Santa Fe Country Club in Solana Beach, CA for a very special luncheon to honor our leaders and announce the official launch of the fund. We’re excited to gather friends and alumni for this special event, and we hope you can join us!

  • To make a donation to the Callan-Smith-Meltzoff Scholarship Fund, simply visit and be sure to note the fund name.
  • To RSVP for our special event luncheon, please visit to let us know you’ll be attending.

The formal invitation has additional details about the fund and the event.

Together, we can help light the way for new CSPP-San Diego graduates as they complete their doctoral degrees and prepare for careers of meaningful impact…while also honoring the very special leaders who created the same opportunity for each of us.

Thank you for your consideration and we hope you can join us! If you are unable to attend but would like to share a message with Dr. Callan, please comment below and we’ll be sure to share!


Planning Committee Chairs
Michael Pittenger        |        Connell Persico

Planning Committee Members
Steve Bucky
Dave Diamond
Dick Gevirtz
Debra Kawahara
Mojgan Khademi
Alan Lincoln
Natalie Porter

1 reply added

  1. Elizabeth Davis-Russell October 23, 2017 Reply

    Joanne, I regret that I am unable to join you in this celebration. Congratulations! You deserve the honor.
    Elizabeth Davis-Russell

Leave your comment